The First, and soon to be not the only, Photo Shoot

We’re not ready for an Etsy launch yet, but things are happening for us here at Green Elevator. Since Steff and I decided way back when to start a business we’ve been on a craft mission, an exploration of craft, a journey to the crafter with in! That basically comes out to be 5 billion (no more no less) half finished/started projects.

However, I think Steff has started to master the art of aprons while I have continued and improved my amigurumi-crocheted creatures. The first official Green Elevator items have been photographed and posted to
flickr. Nothing is for sale yet, but you can get an idea of some of the things we have cooking.

Hedge Hamster

Hedge Hamster

I made this guy several months ago when we were first thinking of starting a business. I was going for a woodland type creature, and he turned out to be a mix of a hedge hog and a hamster. So that’s exactly what he is.

Space Hamster

Space Hamster

This was my first attempt with using wire in an amigurumi project. I had no idea what this was when I finished.

Conversation:

Megan: What is this thing?

Steff: A hamster from space?

and so he is..

Punk Rock Bunny

Punk Bunny

Ah this project was fun walk down memory lane. I, and many of my friends, went through a “punk” phase in high school. Blue hair, baggy jeans, old thrift store t-shirts – the whole bit. Looking back at pictures we looked about as hardcore as this bunny does. But who says a little bunny can’t be badass? Um.. you know.. in his own way.. kind of.. Anyway, Rock on little guy.

Vegetarian T-Rex

Vegetarian T-Rex

A vegetarian T-Rex. Maybe we’re not slaves to nature after all. Or maybe carrots are just that good. The gentle reptile to my right is a little different than my previous work. Slightly more muppety/cartoony, and more complex. He was created using many little swatches of crocheted fabric sewn together. I would love to try another dinosaur since this one was a great learning piece.

All the pictures were taken at the beautiful, amazing, and just a little big magical – Prospect Park. Field trip to Coney Island next? What?

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

